Cart 0
Basement Tapes
bob dylan and the band

Basement Tapes

2LP : Regular price $50.00

1. Odds and Ends
2. Orange Juice Blues (Blues for Breakfast)
3. Million Dollar Bash
4. Yazoo Street Scandal
5. Goin' to Acapulco
6. Katie's Been Gone 
7. Lo and Behold
8. Bessie Smith
9. Clothes Line Saga
10. Apple Suckling Tree
11. Please, Mrs. Henry
12. Tears of Rage Side 
13. Too Much of Nothing
14. Yea! Heavy and a Bottle of Bread
15. Ain't No More Cane
16. Crash on the Levee (Down in the Flood)
17. Ruben Remus
18. Tiny Montgomery 
19. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere
20. Don't Ya Tell Henry 
21. Nothing Was Delivered 
22. Open the Door, Homer
23. Long Distance Operator 
24. This Wheel's on Fire

Originally released: 1975

Band members: Bob Dylan, Rick Danko, Levon Helm, Garth Hudson, Richard Manuel, Robbie Robertson

Producer: Bob Dylan, the Band

After Dylan was injured in a motorcycle accident he concealed himself from the public's gaze for a long while to work with The Band at houses in and around Woodstock where Bob Dylan and members of The Band lived. In that period of time they recorded more than 100 tracks together. And even though the songs were recorded in 1967, this official bootleg wasn't released until 1975. Although some of the songs on The Basement Tapes are humorous, most of the songs dwell on nothingness, betrayal and a quest for salvation and they possess a rootsy quality that anticipates the Americana genre. The Basement Tapes reached #7 in the Billboard Top 200 charts. Released on vinyl for the first time since 1976.


Share this Product

More from this collection