Cart 0
The Floating Life

The Floating Life

Regular price $20.00


1. I Went Looking
2. Edge Of Suburbia
3. Thin Lizzy
4. Boo Radley
5. Back In The Burgh
6. So In A Hurry
7. The Sydney Way?
8. Bicycle Man
9. A Floating Life
10. The Philadelphia Ruse
11. A Beautiful Sound
12. The Music Had The Last Day


Band members: Stewart Cunningham: All Instruments and Vocals Released: 2007 Recorded: Recorded, mixed and produced at The Rendezvous Studio by Stewart Cunningham Over the previous 20 years Stewart ‘Leadfinger’ Cunnigham, had done his time in and written many awesome songs for great Australian rock and power-pop bands like Brother Brick, Asteroid B-612, The Proton Energy Pills, The Yes-Men and Challenger-7 but with the floating life he set out to do something totally different – all by himself – writing, playing, engineering, recording, producing and mixing ’the floating life” from start to finish at his own dodgy home studio under the home he was renting in the sleepy backwater town of Helensburgh, south of Sydney. The result is an album that is definitely unlike anything else you are likely to hear, bluesy and dark and at times electric with high energy and powerful riffs, it veers into the melodic territory of power-pop but with a noisier, harder edge…still with lots of guitars and great songs but with a fresh take on Aussie underground rock’n’roll. After the tumultuous break up of Brother Brick and the untimely death of Sean Greenway in 2001 that caused the end of The Yes-Men, Cunningham took a 4 year break from the debris of his rock’n’roll pursuits. Mired in sadness, debt and chronic writers block – it was mainly through the encouragement and support of the gentlemen at Bang! Records in Spain that he finally broke through the other side and began writing and playing again. The songs that make up the floating life are more or less demos, unpolished gems and the first songs written by Leadfinger after that period. The debut Leadfinger album sits on the brilliant side of lo-fi and has been described as equal parts Westerberg, Chilton, Kuepper and Hitchcock with Fred ’Sonic’ Smith along for the ride on lead guitar!! Stand out tracks are the driving mayhem of EDGE OF SUBURBIA, the 4/4 rockin fun of THIN LIZZY (think of The Replacements Alex Chilton homage but this one is for Phil Lynott) and the stark acoustic power of A FLOATING LIFE – a song inspired by the work of Australian underground poet, John Forbes. The floating life has plenty of great songs with its main themes revolving around being on the margins of society and the regret of a misspent youth… it is sure to surprise and endear itself to the patient listener. The album was released in early 2007 through Bang! Records on gatefold vinyl and deluxe digipak CD. The floating life was the starting point for Leadfinger and led to the formation of a great Australian band, it is a must have for fans of the bands later work.

ADDITIONAL Information


Share this Product