Cart 0
The Summertimes
The Summertimes

The Summertimes

Regular price $40.00
Following their first single in January (“The Perfect Wave”), and a second in April (“Inside”), The Summertimes' self-titled debut LP is now out. Songwriters David Beniuk and David Challenger were joined in the studio by some of Australia’s most revered musicians, including guitarist Ashley Naylor (Paul Kelly and The Church), drummer Stephen O’Brien (Tumbleweed) and bassist Steve Bull (Icehouse). Steering The Summertimes’ ship from behind the desk was five-time ARIA award-winning producer Paul McKercher, who’s recorded with the likes of the Hoodoo Gurus, Eskimo Joe and Midnight Oil. Drawing on inspiration from acts as diverse as the Go-Betweens, Teenage Fanclub, You Am I and The Smiths, The Summertimes’ 10-track LP is chock full of evocative power-pop melodies interwoven with cerebral storytelling.

US music critic Aaron Kupferberg (Power Popaholic): "'Password' and 'My Beautiful Girl Harbour' [are] instant classics, [and] production is flawless thanks to ARIA award-winning producer Paul McKercher ... Highly Recommended, it's a 9/10 from me, and makes my top-10 LP nominee list for 2023."

Tim Rogers (You Am I): "The Summertimes got the Power, they got the Pop. Frantic and wide eyed, I wouldn’t trust ‘em with scissors, but I want ‘em to play my party.”

Paul Gough (ABC producer and host of 2SER's 'Chimes'): "A new album that is drenched in the Australian sunshine, and packed full of great songs."


released July 10, 2023

David Beniuk -- vocals, acoustic guitars

Steve Bull -- electric bass

David Challenger -- electric guitars, vocals

Ian Cooper -- violin and viola

Marco Forlano – keyboards

Nick Garbett – trumpet
Ashley Naylor - lead guitar

Stephen O’Brien -- drum kit and percussion

Produced, recorded and mixed by Paul McKercher

Assisted by Domenic Corso and Chris Hall at Rancom St. Studios

Mixed at Free Energy Device

Mastered by Steve Smart at 301

Label Management Paul Hannigan for Rank and File Records


  1. Inside 
  2. Password 
  3. Wakes Up Shadows
  4. My Beautiful Girl Harbour 
  5. Where The Lights Hit The Square 
  6. White Pointer 
  7. Love (It's The Word) 
  8. Sky And The Sea 
  9. Athens, GA 
  10. The Perfect Wave 


Share this Product

More from this collection